Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: No joy in kegging  (Read 7936 times)

Offline oldtymehockey

• Cellarman
No joy in kegging
« on: November 07, 2015, 09:18:27 pm »
I am basically a rookie to brewing. I am a techie. I am also very adept at people skills, automotive, motorcycles, electrical work, and cooking. I am also experience at forums. I have looked across the whole first page of the "Kegging and Bottling" subform. I didn't see a search box pop out at me. Perhaps my frustration is blinding me. I have been brewing since August. I have had some success bottling. I decided to make the jump to ramp up my production. I purchased the Draft Brewer Flex Keg system from Northern Brewer in MN. I am now drinking flat beer and no matter what I do nothing seems to fix it. Here's what I have so far...

Purchased the system new. When I got home I filled the keg I was to use with Star San and let it sit while I boiled my next brew.

Once the wort was cooled and placed in the new FastFerment (another frustration story) I moved on to racking my ready to bottle beer to the freshly sanitized keg.

I filled the keg and sealed the lid. Then I cooled it while I read up on the regulator and connections. I did this because the folks at the store told me my beer wouldn't carbonate until it was chilled.

Once chilled I hooked up the gas lines and turned it to 35-40 psi like the folks in the store told me. I let it sit that way for about 20 hours. That evening I watched a bunch of videos on force carbonating. The next morning I let the air out and set it to serving pressure. Flat.

I then watched some more videos. I took it out of the fridge and followed the videos where I was showed to roll the keg on its side and listen for the gurgling to slow to almost stopped. This I did all day today. I then set pressure to 11psi and headed to the brew store to troubleshoot a leaky MegaPot 1.21 that I just spent another half metric ton of cash on.