Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Stuck Stout or Just Fine  (Read 2491 times)

Offline TeeDubb

• Assistant Brewer
  • San Jose, CA
Stuck Stout or Just Fine
« on: October 31, 2015, 09:35:23 pm »
So, this is my first time posting.  I appreciate all of the great info and camaraderie on this forum!

I have an all grain chocolate milk stout that just finished primary.  OG was 1.068, a 5.2 gal batch, 16 oz of lactose was used (yes a bit high, but researched this a bit). It was fermented with White Labs WLP090 (1.0L starter) which has always been great and fast for me on ales. I did oxygenate with pure O2 for 60 sec. It took off after 6 hrs and pretty much finished after 3 days (looking at gravity) but I let it sit another 4D for a total of 8D in primary. Fermenter was controlled to 63-64F for the first 2 days, then allowed to free rise to 68 for the rest as it seemed to taper off.

It's at a gravity of 1.030 now, but I was expecting something closer to 1.023. I need a sanity check: my gut says to leave it be, let it rest in the keg for another week at 70F, then cold crash, fine with gelatin, and carbonate.  Call it a "sweet stout."  There is the temptation to add some Safale S-04, but I have never done this. I'm wondering if it really stuck, or the lactose (never used by me) had an impact on the fermentation.  By my calculations, the lactose raises the FG by about 6 points.

Any help or reassurance would be appreciated.  Happy Halloween!

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: Stuck Stout or Just Fine
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2015, 09:44:54 pm »
If you can, pull a sample and quick carb it. Sometimes gravity isnt that sweet. Many of the long sugars just arent as sweet on the tongue as you might expect. One way to find out, right?

Offline TeeDubb

• Assistant Brewer
  • San Jose, CA
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2015, 09:50:17 pm »