Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Adapting Home Brew Recipes  (Read 1099 times)

Offline Backwoodsj

• 1st Kit
Adapting Home Brew Recipes
« on: November 13, 2015, 02:41:00 pm »
Hi!  I am relatively new to home brewing.  I have brewed a couple of ready made(kits) recipes with good success, but want to branch out into recipes where I purchase the ingredients separately.  My question, and i know that this has been discussed here somewhere, is that I brew in 5 gallon batches.  How do I adapt a recipe to my 5 gallon size.  any help would be appreciated.  In advance, THANKS!!!

Offline Joe Sr.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Chicago - NORTH SIDE
Re: Adapting Home Brew Recipes
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2015, 03:18:16 pm »
Most recipes I've seen are for 5 gallon batches.

Where are you looking?
It's all in the reflexes. - Jack Burton

RPIScotty

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2015, 05:33:06 pm »
Typically you could just scale everything linearly. Divide the recipe volume by the desired volume to get a scaling factor and divide all of your ingredients by that.

Offline pete b

• Barre, Ma
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2015, 06:28:42 am »
Yep there's nothing magic, just basic math. The only thing other than that is that a small batch recipe like 2.5 gallons might directly pitch a package of liquid yeast as is but you would want to make a starter for a 5 gallon batch.
Don't let the bastards cheer you up.

coastsidemike

« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2015, 08:57:04 am »
It helps to use brewing software.  Brewer's Friend, Brew Pal, BeerSmith, et cetera; they offer scaling and then you can additionally adjust ratios and hop additions for what ingredients you have available.

RPIScotty

« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2015, 09:37:58 am »