Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First brew; skipping secondary; when to bottle?  (Read 2899 times)

Offline HugoStiglitz

• 1st Kit
First brew; skipping secondary; when to bottle?
« on: November 26, 2015, 03:16:28 pm »
This is my first post. I'm very new to homebrewing, as the subject says, I'm on my first brew. Hopefully someone can help shed some light on the subject for me.

A  little background:

I recently got my dad a homebrewing kit for his birthday, as something we could do to spend some quality time together.  Being new to it, we started with extract brewing; a Brewer's Best American cream ale kit. Brew day (11/21) went well. We started with 5 gallons of water, and followed the brew day schedule. At the end of the boil, we added some water back to account for evaporation and to get the OG in the correct range. When all was said and done the OG was 1.052. As per the recommendation of the local homebrew shop, where I purchased the kit, we bypassed the plastic bucket, and put it directly into the 5 gallon glass carboy with a blow-off hose/airlock set up. We pitched dry yeast as the directions said in all caps "DO NOT REHYDRATE" so I assumed that was important. We started to see some bubbles in the air lock within 12 hours or so. It has been very actively fermenting / bubbling for five days now. The bubbles are starting to slow down today (11/26); now they're going at about a rate of 36/min.

This is where my real question comes in. Again as per the recommendation of the local homebrew shop, since we have been fermenting directly in the glass carboy, we will not be moving it to a secondary fermenter, but rather just letting it sit there. So my question is how long should we let it sit there & when should we bottle it? It seems to have been going to plan thus far and I'd really like to keep it that way.