Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Sanitizer Comparison  (Read 12847 times)

Offline dilluh98

• Brewmaster
Re: Sanitizer Comparison
« Reply #60 on: November 25, 2015, 09:39:47 am »
I only have one data point but I am against adding ascorbic acid to beer (at least finished beer). I tried it as a way to stave off oxidation in a bottled IPA and did not like the results. It gave a "twang" to the beer that was quite off-putting.

Offline jimmykx250

• Brewer
Sanitizer Comparison
« Reply #61 on: November 28, 2015, 08:10:57 am »
I have been brewing for only a couple years now with no infections to speak of. In my humble opinion I wonder if a lot of this stuff is overblown so these companies can sell more product. I wonder if a little hot water and soap with a good rinse would be adequate but since I started I've read and been told sanitize everything that touches your beer so i just do it. So starsan has another customer. I figure I put too much work into a batch to risk it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: November 28, 2015, 08:13:50 am by jimmykx250 »
Jimmykx250

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Sanitizer Comparison
« Reply #62 on: November 28, 2015, 10:35:28 am »
I have been brewing for only a couple years now with no infections to speak of. In my humble opinion I wonder if a lot of this stuff is overblown so these companies can sell more product. I wonder if a little hot water and soap with a good rinse would be adequate but since I started I've read and been told sanitize everything that touches your beer so i just do it. So starsan has another customer. I figure I put too much work into a batch to risk it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[/quote