Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Critique wanted on sweet stout  (Read 2816 times)

Offline Frankenbrew

• Brewmaster
Critique wanted on sweet stout
« on: November 30, 2015, 06:31:47 pm »
Hi All,

Stouts are not my usual go-to beer, but I have many friends that seem to like them. So I'd like to get a sweet stout on tap. Until now, I've only brewed stouts from kits. This is my first attempt at my own recipe. I would love some feedback on it.

Thanks in advance.

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 6.72 gal
Post Boil Volume: 5.72 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.25 gal   
Bottling Volume: 4.75 gal
Estimated OG: 1.055 SG
Estimated Color: 35.9 SRM
Estimated IBU: 35.8 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 79.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 83.3 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt                   Name                                     Type          #        %/IBU         
7 lbs 8.0 oz          Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (3.0 SRM)           Grain         1        72.3 %       
12.0 oz               Caramel/Crystal Malt - 80L (77.0 SRM)    Grain         2        7.2 %         
8.0 oz                Black Roasted Barley (500.0 SRM)         Grain         3        4.8 %         
8.0 oz                Chocolate Malt (475.0 SRM)               Grain         4        4.8 %         
2.0 oz                Acid Malt (3.0 SRM)                      Grain         5        1.2 %         
1 lbs                 Milk Sugar (Lactose) (0.0 SRM)           Sugar         6        9.6 %         
1.75 oz               Goldings, B.C. [5.70 %] - Boil 60.0 min  Hop           7        35.8 IBUs     
1.0 pkg               American Ale II (Wyeast Labs #1272) [124 Yeast         8        -             

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Full Body, Batch Sparge
Total Grain Weight: 10 lbs 6.0 oz
Frank C.

And thereof comes the proverb: 'Blessing of your
heart, you brew good ale.'

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here