Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Diacetyl rest for ales  (Read 7802 times)

Offline flbrewer

• Brewmaster General
Diacetyl rest for ales
« on: December 29, 2015, 07:44:19 am »
Is this ever a necessity? Does anyone do it?

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Diacetyl rest for ales
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2015, 07:51:41 am »
I raise the temp on ales that I ferment at lower temps, but that is more to keep it from stalling than fear of diacetyl.

Offline Frankenbrew

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2015, 07:53:14 am »
I've never done it, and I've been brewing ales for 21 years. If you are fermenting in the mid 60s, just leave it on the yeast cake for a few days after fermentation is done, and you will be good to go. I almost never rack off the yeast sooner than three weeks, and I've never had a problem with off-flavors.
Frank C.

And thereof comes the proverb: 'Blessing of your
heart, you brew good ale.'

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2015, 08:02:33 am »
I raise the temp on ales that I ferment at lower temps, but that is more to keep it from stalling than fear of diacetyl.

+1. Between raising temp at the end and often waiting 3 or 4 weeks to keg (busy work/family schedule), the yeast has more than enough to clean up after itself.
Jon H.

Offline tommymorris

« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2015, 08:05:49 am »
I have noticed wlp002 puts off lots of diacetyl and then does a really good job cleaning it up later. When I take a gravity reading right after krausen drop I usually regret it because the sample tastes like butter. One week later that butter flavor has always been gone.  I suspect packaging wlp002 beer too early would be a bad idea.

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2015, 08:19:44 am »
I suspect packaging wlp002 beer too early would be a bad idea.