Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Best books on commercial brewing?  (Read 12332 times)

Offline jeeyeop

• Cellarman
Best books on commercial brewing?
« on: December 29, 2015, 11:00:23 pm »
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to brewing as it is, so it's just a far off fantasy for me at the moment to one day open a brewery.

However, I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good book on the basics of starting/operating a commercial brewery or brewpub. Right now I'm mainly reading basic beer books + items listed under the cicerone program. Thanks!

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Re: Best books on commercial brewing?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2015, 03:07:15 am »
The MBAA series is pretty good. IIRC its 125 bucks for the three books so you better be serious. FWIW I brewed for 15 years before opening my brewery. Not something to be taken lightly. If you don't have really, really good beer and know what you are doing you probably won't be around long.

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2015, 06:02:19 am »
It seems, to me at least, that if one enjoys brewing they should look to a brewing job. Owning a brewery is probably more for the guy/gal who loves sales and dealing with bills, taxes, and government regulations.

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2015, 06:47:36 am »
It seems, to me at least, that if one enjoys brewing they should look to a brewing job. Owning a brewery is probably more for the guy/gal who loves sales and dealing with bills, taxes, and government regulations.

while I do own a fifth of my brewery I do have partners who take care of that stuff for me. I brew and manage production.

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2015, 07:17:45 am »