Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Won't ferment :(  (Read 2086 times)

Offline bstein

• 1st Kit
Won't ferment :(
« on: January 08, 2016, 02:36:14 pm »
Hi Everyone,
New to this forum and looking for some help, advice. I have been brewing off and on for a few years and have had moderate success brewing pale ales and stouts. A few weeks ago, i thought I would change things up and try a saison. I did an all-grain 2.5 gallon batch using BIAB method. I pitched Safbrew T-58 at about 80 degrees reading that this yeast likes heat. It's winter here in norther california and the temperatures have dropped. I have a thermal wrap around my fermenter because it's stored in the garage. the temp dropped to about the mid-60s. the packet says it will ferment between 57 and 75. So, i waited. And waited. no fermentation. I went back the the home brew shop and got another packet. The weather got warmer and I got the temperature up to 70 in my fermenter. I put the second packet in. It still isn't fermenting. this has never happened before. Usually things start happening in 24 hours or less. It's been a week since i brewed and I put the 2nd packet in 4 days ago.

Currently, I have placed a clean trash barrel upside down over the fermenter trying to get the temps even higher to see if I can kick things into gear. My first thought was bad yeast, but i have put in two packets from two different brew supply shops.

Anyone have thoughts on what I could have done wrong or what I might try to get things unstuck?

Thanks,
Brook

Offline BrodyR

• Brewmaster
  • Philadelphia, PA
Re: Won't ferment :(
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2016, 02:48:45 pm »
Did you take a gravity reading to be sure nothing happened? I've had some batches go off like crazy and others that you hardly notice.

Offline Frankenbrew

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2016, 04:34:17 pm »