Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Coconut  (Read 1926 times)

Offline norcaljp

• Assistant Brewer
  • I prefer to drink my bread, thank you
    • The Brewins
Coconut
« on: January 15, 2016, 06:51:32 pm »
I just tried a sample of a coconut chocolate stout I'm brewing that I pulled for a gravity reading. I've so far used a half pound of lightly toasted coconut at 15 in the boil and .75 lbs toasted coconut as a dry addition for 6 days now.

I'm not picking up any coconut. It's supposed to be an Almond Joy Stout, so I want the coconut to be obvious. Any ideas and experience on how to pack coconut flavor? Should I go with a coconut extract from the store. I was planning to add another 12 oz to a pound of toasted coconut for another week, but with no coconut flavor so far I don't want to just blindly add more if it doesn't get the desired flavor. This is my first time using coconut.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2016, 07:06:37 pm by norcaljp »
Joel Prater

I prefer to drink my bread, thank you

Offline Steve Ruch

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Coconut
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2016, 09:35:19 am »
I've read about brewers using a bit of coconut rum for flavor.
I love to go swimmin'
with hairy old women

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2016, 09:47:58 am »
I've read about brewers using a bit of coconut rum for flavor.
Which is probably just coconut extract + light rum. I'd just go with the extract and dose to taste.
Eric B.

Finally got around to starting a homebrewing blog: The Hop Whisperer

Offline norcaljp

• Assistant Brewer
    • The Brewins
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2016, 10:18:19 am »
Thanks...