Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: 3 Weeks and apparently I forgot how to brew:)  (Read 1630 times)

Offline braufessor

• Brewer
3 Weeks and apparently I forgot how to brew:)
« on: March 05, 2017, 08:02:18 am »
Brew 60 batches a year for 5 years, take 3 weeks off, and it is like I am a beginner again.  Been sick as can be for the last couple weeks, so yesterday was my first brew day in 3 weeks.

*Ran off too much wort into my kettle..... adding boil time and decreasing my intended gravity.

*Was dry hopping a Saison with some Citra (While I was brewing my german pilsner).  As I was throwing my 10 minute addition of german hops in the kettle, I smelled them,  and thought: "Huh, that smells really strong.... like Citra"..... as they went into the kettle.  Looked over my shoulder and realized my sense of smell was correct.

* Dumped my yeast in my fermenter, started running the wort off.  Was getting my oxygen canister ready, I looked back and realized the spigot of my fermenter was open and wort/yeast was pouring out onto the floor.  Probably lost a half gallon or so (and obviously some proportion of  my yeast.)

So...... I now have a 1.042 gravity "german" pilsner, with a 1 ounce addition of Citra at 10 minutes, that may or may not have an adequate amount of yeast in it.  Currently fermenting (I hope) away at 50 degrees.

Nothing catastrophic, and I am actually kind of curious how the beer will come out.  Crazy how fast you can get out of the routine and make stupid mistakes. 

I have another German Pilsner on deck to brew today - so, hopefully I have the bugs worked out.

Offline natebrews

• Brewer
Re: 3 Weeks and apparently I forgot how to brew:)
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2017, 08:12:37 am »