Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Beers Climbing Out of My Bottles  (Read 2823 times)

Offline crakers540

• Cellarman
Beers Climbing Out of My Bottles
« on: January 31, 2016, 08:57:03 pm »
I am new to AHA.  I started home brewing in 1992, brewed for a few years, got married + kids, put equipment away, but started brewing again 4 years ago.  I recently have had severe issues with my beers foaming out of my bottles when opened.  I quit adding clarifiers to my fermenter, I open and drink my beers at "basement" temp (65F, which I think exposes the taste profile much better than cold beers).  I use the typical 3/4 cup of table sugar at bottling time for 5 gallons. 

Any suggestions? 

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Beers Climbing Out of My Bottles
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2016, 10:17:13 pm »
Too warm for that level of carbonation. The volume of co2 is more than double from 40-64°

Offline crakers540

• Cellarman
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2016, 04:08:49 pm »
Thanks Steve.  Maybe I should decrease the amount of sugar at bottling since I enjoy my beers at slightly higher than cellar temps.

Offline santoch

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Riverview, FL
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2016, 08:05:39 pm »
Has there been any change in flavor/aroma?   You said that the excessive foaming is "recent", which I take to mean that you've been doing this a while and the beers never foamed up like this before.

If you can taste/smell phenolic flavors/aromas (clove, band-aids, adhesive or electrical tape, smoke), that shouldn't be there, then you might be suffering from a wild yeast infection.  Star-san is ineffective at killing wild yeasts.  You can try to use a different sanitizer such as iodophor, or even bleach (after which you could THEN rinse fully and re-sanitize with star-san).