Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Looking for ideas on a new garage setup  (Read 5374 times)

Offline scottmathews

• 1st Kit
Looking for ideas on a new garage setup
« on: February 01, 2016, 12:51:18 pm »
Hey everyone! I just recently joined, but I have been brewing (at a not very consistent rate) for a few years now. I've made around 10 batches, all done in a fairly small apartment, or other non-permanent situation.

This week I am closing on a home, and have a very large garage that I will be able to use a good chunk of for a dedicated brewing work area. I was hoping to ask others for general ideas/tips/etc as I go to get settled in to the space.

I have access to water (I can add whatever plumbing I want) and electric. I plan on adding a workbench, shelving for storage, and some kind of water source(s?). Beyond that I'm not 100% sure *how* I want to do those things. I typically stick to 5gal batches, but occasionally do 10. Mostly all grain and extract.

Any advice or ideas would be really appreciated! Maybe even a picture of a similar garage set-up would give me a nice idea as to what I'm getting into.
Scott Mathews

Offline crakers540

• Cellarman
Re: Looking for ideas on a new garage setup
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2016, 04:43:31 pm »
Not sure if you have space for a sink, but if you can squeeze one in, I would recommend it.  Maybe add just a utility sink and build some counter space next to it.  I have a 2-tub sink in my basement that I use (6' L x 19" wide), and I find it very useful for both brew and bottling day.

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2016, 05:08:47 pm »
Definitely plan out space for temperature controlled fermentation if you don't already have that covered.
Heck yeah I blog about homebrewing: Brain Sparging on Brewing

Offline scottmathews

• 1st Kit