Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: WLP565 Belgian Saison I question  (Read 5115 times)

Offline syncopadence

• Assistant Brewer
WLP565 Belgian Saison I question
« on: February 07, 2016, 08:49:56 am »
Hey guys, this is my first time using this yeast, so I'm a little in the dark.  OG was 1.051, now at 1.007 after 5 days, fermented at 68*.  I'm getting a lot of hefeweizen kinda flavor right now.  I wanted to transfer to secondary with some blood oranges today, but I was wondering if I should wait longer?  Where should I go from here?
Thanks for any help.

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
Re: WLP565 Belgian Saison I question
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2016, 08:59:24 am »
I wouldn't rack any beer after 5 days. I'd wait until you get 2-3 identical hydrometer readings, each a day or two apart. Then rack to secondary to add the fruit . Saison yeasts can take a little while to hit FG - depending on your grist and mash schedule you might end up as low as 1.002 - 1.004 FG.
Jon H.

Offline duboman

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2016, 09:01:29 am »
It may drop a couple more points but you will also get secondary fermentation from the oranges, I would rack to a secondary vessel onto the oranges and let it finish fermenting out, not even necessary to hold temp, just let it free rise and finish

Edit, Jon chimed in before me and I'd concur with him as well, really either way IMO

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk
Peace....Love......Beer......

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the craft of beer since 2010

Offline coolman26

• Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2016, 09:17:19 am »
Have a 565 kegged right now.  Started at 1.056 and finished at 1.002 for me. Fermented at 70 and let it set on the yeast for 3 weeks.  Really good stuff
Jeff B

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing