Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: bottles for NHC  (Read 3267 times)

Offline smitch09

• 1st Kit
bottles for NHC
« on: February 14, 2016, 12:42:25 pm »
Hey all, this is my first time entering the NHC. I have a few questions about entry bottles that I could not find an answer to.

Are the stubby Sierra Nevada type bottles acceptable?

Is it okay if a bottle can be identified with a commercial brewery? For example, some breweries have custom bottles with their logo "printed" in the glass. Can I use such bottles for my entry if all labels are removed?

Thanks for your help!

Offline fmader

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: bottles for NHC
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2016, 01:17:37 pm »
I believe the short bottles are out because they don't package well with the standard bottles. These sites could have 800 bottles coming, so they are going to be stored in cases. The short bottles don't fit well. As far as raised letters like Sam Adams bottles go. I think they're listed as "discouraged." It's been said that nobody bats an eye at them though. I personally don't take the chance.
Frank

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2016, 01:21:36 pm »
It is in here. Less than 9" in height, no more than 2.75 inch diameter. Storing bottles of different sizes causes trouble when you have 1500 bottles to store in limited space. Someone from AHA will need to clarify the raised letters.

https://www.homebrewersassociation.org/competitions/national-homebrew-competition/rules-and-regulations/
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

Offline smkranz

• Brewer
  • Maryland
    • Midnight Homebrewers' League
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2016, 04:01:03 pm »
Raised letter bottles are nowhere discouraged or banned in the rules.

1. What kind of bottle is required?