Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: calculate gravity drop from large starter addition  (Read 2534 times)

Offline brewsumore

• Brewmaster
  • Spokane, WA
calculate gravity drop from large starter addition
« on: February 15, 2016, 03:22:09 pm »
I had 5.2 gal of 1.085 wort to which I added 2 liters (one half gallon) of 1.035 starter wort.  I'm wondering if anyone knows of a calculator, or has the formula for determining the OG following the starter addition.

I realize it should be simple algebra but it's been a long time since I studied that.

I know, that's an awfully large starter to pitch whole for an ale... my excuse is old liquid yeast and a high OG.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2016, 03:24:14 pm by brewsumore »

Offline brewsumore

• Brewmaster
  • Spokane, WA
Re: calculate gravity drop from large starter addition
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2016, 03:33:28 pm »
I just realized that I can convert to plato and do an average.... maybe - let me work on that.

edit: Yeah right.  ::)  Yep, I haven't renewed my advanced mathematics license in wayyy too long.   
« Last Edit: February 15, 2016, 03:47:56 pm by brewsumore »

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2016, 03:36:57 pm »

(Volume of wort * gravity of wort + volume of starter * gravity of starter) / total volume.

20.8qt * 85 = 1768
2.1qt * 35 = 73.5
70 + 1768 = 1841.5
1841.5 / 22.9 = 80.4

Must use the same unit of measure for it to work.

Offline brewsumore

• Brewmaster
  • Spokane, WA
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2016, 03:38:12 pm »

(Volume of wort * gravity of wort + volume of starter * gravity of starter) / total volume.

20.8qt * 85 = 1768
2.1qt * 35 = 73.5
70 + 1768 = 1841.5
1841.5 / 22.9 = 80.4

Must use the same unit of measure for it to work.

Awesome.  Thanks Steve!

Offline rayzab64

• 1st Kit
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2016, 06:10:50 pm »