Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bavarian Hefewiezen. New to Brewing  (Read 2072 times)

Offline xZ1mM3r

• Cellarman
Bavarian Hefewiezen. New to Brewing
« on: February 16, 2016, 04:43:48 pm »
Hey everyone. I'm new to Brewing. I got into all grain brewing and love it! I bought everything I needed to brew a Hef, it's been fermenting for about a week and a half now. It's in my laundry room, on a concrete floor, my temp is around 61 F, is that too cold?? I also am worried about getting bacteria in my batch and ruining it, I'm using sanitizer but it's still on my mind. How often does a batch get ruined?? Anyways. Just here to say I'm new to the group, love the brew process. Here's some photos.

Offline Wort-H.O.G.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Play Nice
    • Harvey's Brewhaus
Bavarian Hefewiezen. New to Brewing
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2016, 04:55:36 pm »
welcome! looks like a nice set up to brew.

sanitation is important. cleanliness up front and having a good healthy pitch of yeast that takes over before any potential bacteria can take hold is key. if you start with sanitized and clean equipment after the boil - starsan for example on clean equipment, you will IME be A-OK.

sit back, watch, and enjoy the process....you will almost inevitably make beer free from infection.

low 60's is also good letting it rise slightly to 65-67F after about 72 hours- for hefe yeast you will likely get more clove and less banana esters-the later happens most with warmer fermentation temps 66-67F +.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2016, 05:00:42 pm by Wort-H.O.G. »
Ken- Chagrin Falls, OH
CPT, U.S.Army
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Harveys-Brewhaus/405092862905115

http://braukaiser.com/wiki/index.php?title=The_Science_of_Mashing

Serving:        In Process:
Vienna IPA          O'Fest
Dort
Mead                 
Cider                         
Ger'merican Blonde
Amber Ale
Next:
Ger Pils
O'Fest