Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Getting frustrated. Can you help?  (Read 2489 times)

Offline imacho2

• 1st Kit
Getting frustrated. Can you help?
« on: February 19, 2016, 06:46:40 pm »
Hello. Just joined and have a question.

Ive been attempting to home-brew for about 6-7 months now. My first brew was a German hefe and it was great.

My next 3 have been problematic.

2nd attempt was a pumpkin ale. It ended up way to diluted. Tossed it.
3rd attempt was Citrus Belgian Wit. It never fermented and turned sour, stunk up the entire house. Tossed it.
lastest project was a German Lager. Used lager yeast and cold fermented. 2nd stage fermentation was 3 weeks. Kegged it a few days ago and tried it today. It was sour.  >:(

All equipment is sanitized the morning of brewing. Also any equipment that touches the beer is sure to be sanitized. All instructions are followed exactly as stated. Do you have any suggestions to help with my last 2 attempts at brewing?

Thanks

Offline fmader

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Getting frustrated. Can you help?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2016, 06:51:27 pm »
I'd start with sabrizuzing as you go. Sanitizing the morning of the brew gives it several hours to collect bacteria.
Frank

Offline flbrewer

• Brewmaster General
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2016, 06:57:35 pm »
Sanitation aside, perhaps step back and build a repertoire of basic styles that you know work. 

Offline coolman26

• Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2016, 06:58:18 pm »
I agree with sanitize as you go.  What is your sanitizer?
Jeff B

Offline yso191

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Yakima, WA
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2016, 06:59:59 pm »