Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: pH woes  (Read 3127 times)

Offline cempt1

• Cellarman
pH woes
« on: February 23, 2016, 05:55:34 am »
I am new to pH measurement.  I test my 1st 2 batches without filtering out the grains so I have learned that will potentially cause a low reading.  I have a new milwaukee 101 meter.  This weekend I brewed and tested the mash 10 min in and was at 5.5 (bru'nwater estimated 5.4).  I rinsed the meter in RO water and tested distilled water and got 7.5 (I assumed this should be 7).

I am calibrating with the packets that came with the meter which I assume to be diluted giving me erroneous readings.   I will get new solutions but any other newbie pH meter user suggestions?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Offline Wort-H.O.G.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Play Nice
    • Harvey's Brewhaus
Re: pH woes
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2016, 06:42:06 am »
I am new to pH measurement.  I test my 1st 2 batches without filtering out the grains so I have learned that will potentially cause a low reading.  I have a new milwaukee 101 meter.  This weekend I brewed and tested the mash 10 min in and was at 5.5 (bru'nwater estimated 5.4).  I rinsed the meter in RO water and tested distilled water and got 7.5 (I assumed this should be 7).

I am calibrating with the packets that came with the meter which I assume to be diluted giving me erroneous readings.   I will get new solutions but any other newbie pH meter user suggestions?

Ive found freshly opened distilled water tested right away has PH in the 6 range. As it sits out it will dissolve CO2 from the air and the resulting carbonic acid formed can drop the PH lower.