Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Water PH  (Read 2002 times)

Offline 00ramair

• 1st Kit
Water PH
« on: March 02, 2016, 07:01:04 pm »
I am new to home brewing so I have a ton of questions. I have only made 3 batches and so I'm doing ok. I am seeing that water PH can make a big difference. Where I live I have well water and it's not that good so I have spent a lot of money for good drinking water. I have an Iron Curtain and a water softener and that wasn't enough so I also bought a water filter machine that is similar to reverse osmosis but it also adjusts the water PH level to anything I want between 4.0 and 12.0. So my question is what PH level would you choose to start your beer?

Offline neddles

• Brewer
Re: Water PH
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2016, 07:26:48 pm »
There is a longer answer but the short answer is that the pH of your water won't be that consequential. What will be consequential is the mineral content and buffering capacity of bicarbonates in the water. Ultimately your goal is to be able to mash at a targeted pH (usually between 5.2-5.6). The way to start is to know the mineral content of that water. Were it mine I would get the brewer's package from ward labs and send them a sample.

Now, as a new brewer I am not sure if you are brewing all grain or with extract. If with extract just focus on good sanitization, yeast health, and fermentation temperature control. When using extract the mash has already been conducted for you so water pH is of a very secondary concern. (unless of course it is extreme in nature)

Offline 00ramair

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2016, 07:54:48 pm »
I have only brewed extract kits, 1 with specialty grains that were steeped. I don't have the equipment yet try more advanced brewing. I set my water machine at 7.0 PH for the brewing I have done so far.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RPIScotty

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2016, 08:00:54 pm »