Author Topic: Using DME for priming?  (Read 1102 times)

Epipen

  • Guest
Using DME for priming?
« on: March 21, 2016, 11:19:59 PM »
Anyone use DME for priming?  I have some extra left over and was thinking about using it.   I've heard that it might take longer to condition.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

Offline Stevie

  • Official Poobah of No Life.
  • *
  • Posts: 6858
    • View Profile
Re: Using DME for priming?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2016, 11:23:39 PM »
Use it if you have it. Any difference is negligible.

Epipen

  • Guest
Re: Using DME for priming?
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2016, 11:28:42 PM »
Thanks!!!    :)

Offline Stevie

  • Official Poobah of No Life.
  • *
  • Posts: 6858
    • View Profile
Re: Using DME for priming?
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2016, 11:31:56 PM »
Need to mention that the amount used is different. Use a priming calculator to determine the amount needed. Weight is better than volume.

Offline euge

  • I must live here
  • **********
  • Posts: 8022
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
    • View Profile
Re: Using DME for priming?
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2016, 12:05:43 AM »
Anyone experience a krausen-ring when priming with extract? I haven't but only used it a couple times. But have heard it happens.
The first principle is that you must not fool yourself, and you are the easiest person to fool. -Richard P. Feynman

Laws are spider-webs, which catch the little flies, but cannot hold the big ones. -Anacharsis

Offline 4swan

  • Cellarman
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Using DME for priming?
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2016, 11:45:18 AM »
When I experimented with it years ago, it took a little longer to carbonate and there is more sediment in the bottom of the bottle.

Offline denny

  • Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • *****
  • Posts: 19389
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • View Profile
    • Dennybrew
Re: Using DME for priming?
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2016, 03:28:48 PM »
IME DME is an inferior way to prime.  The main problem is that you don't know what went into the DME, so you don't know how fermentable it is, so you don't really know what carb level you'll get.  Save your leftover DME for when you need to adjust the gravity of a batch and stick to sugar for priming.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline The Professor

  • Brewmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
  • "In the next life, you're on your own"
    • View Profile
Re: Using DME for priming?
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2016, 03:28:54 AM »
IME DME is an inferior way to prime.  The main problem is that you don't know what went into the DME, so you don't know how fermentable it is, so you don't really know what carb level you'll get.  Save your leftover DME for when you need to adjust the gravity of a batch and stick to sugar for priming.
Totally agree.  Stick with sugar (whether it be dextrose, invert, or table sugar)...you'll get a more predicable (and arguably better) result.
AL
New Brunswick, NJ
[499.6, 101.2] Apparent Rennerian
Homebrewer since July 1971

Offline majorvices

  • Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 9607
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
    • View Profile
    • Yellowhammer Brewing Company
Re: Using DME for priming?
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2016, 12:37:38 PM »
+2

Offline pete b

  • Official Poobah of No Life.
  • *
  • Posts: 3123
  • Barre, Ma
    • View Profile
Re: Using DME for priming?
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2016, 01:42:43 PM »
I used to have all kinds of results until I went with plain old organic cane sugar and the Northern Brewer priming sugar calculator, measuring by weight.
Don't let the bastards cheer you up.

Offline Stevie

  • Official Poobah of No Life.
  • *
  • Posts: 6858
    • View Profile
Re: Using DME for priming?
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2016, 01:49:36 PM »
Only issue I had was extra break material. Worked fine otherwise