Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Partial Mash - Confused Newb Questions  (Read 2433 times)

Offline MotoGP1000

• 1st Kit
Partial Mash - Confused Newb Questions
« on: February 17, 2016, 09:50:20 am »
Hey Everyone -

Im new to the brewing world, made my first extract batch, and now I'm ready to start going into partial mashing.     I am however a little confused about the order of things as things seems to differ from Youtube video to video I watch.

I have a 5gal brewing kit.   Just bought an Igloo cooler to convert into a mash tun.     Hopefully I dont bore or annoy you with 'day 1' questions.     Below is what I was planning to follow but was hoping for a little confirmation or suggestions.

1. For every pound of grain in the recipe, collect 1 quart of water in the mash kettle. This will be the mash water. E.g, 3 pounds of grain = 3 quarts of water.     This seems self explanatory

2. Heat mash water to strike temperature. Approximately 10°F warmer than the first mash temperature in the recipe (e.g., if the first mash temperature is 152°F, heat the water to 162°F).   

Again self explanatory

3. Add crushed grain to the hot mash water in the pot. Stir well to thoroughly mix the grain in!   Do i use a bag or just let the grains go freely in the water?

4. Measure the temperature of the grain-water mixture. It should stabilize within 1-2° of the mash temperature given in the kit inventory. Add cool or hot water as needed to bring it into this range.   No need to explain

5. Hold temperature for mash rest. Maintain the mash temperature for the time specified by the kit inventory.
      no need to explain other than i think mash time/temps are relatively static?

6. Collect and heat sparge water. Using the second pot, collect the same amount of water used in Step #1, heat it to 170°F, and hold it at that temperature until it’s needed in Step #9. 

Do i absolutely need a 2nd pot if I have the Igloo mash tun?