Author Topic: Krausen Blowout  (Read 1285 times)

Offline 00ramair

• 1st Kit
    • View Profile
Krausen Blowout
« on: April 04, 2016, 08:06:37 AM »
I had my first krausen blowout, it clogged my airlock and blew it off the carboy. I'm still pretty new to home brewing. It sat open maybe 8 hours at the most, do I have to worry about any possible contamination to my beer?

Offline yso191

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Yakima, WA
    • View Profile
Re: Krausen Blowout
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2016, 08:14:57 AM »
Nope.  Your beer will be fine.
Steve
All Hands Brewing
BJCP #D1667

Offline 69franx

• Official Poobah of No Life.
  • Bloatarian Brewing League
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2016, 10:00:05 AM »
Nope.  Your beer will be fine.
+1
Frank L.
Fermenting:
Conditioning:
In keg: Bloatarian Hop Project with Galena, Mt. Hood, and Azacca
In Bottles:  Brown Eyed Woman Scottish Heavy
In the works: Fest Bier 2 ways to celebrate 100 days nicotine free

Offline FaradayUncaged

• Cellarman
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2016, 10:00:21 AM »
I'm sure it will be just fine.  Hopefully the cleanup wasn't too bad.

Did you install a blowoff tube or just a clean airlock afterward?  I've done the latter before only to have it fill up and need replaced again shortly thereafter.

How high was your OG and how full was the fermenter?  (asking more for 'how do I prevent this next time')

Offline 00ramair

• 1st Kit
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2016, 04:05:29 PM »
Clean up wasn't to bad, I did install a blow off tube. It's a 6 gallon carboy with 5 gallons in it. The OG was 1.072. I checked it in the evening and fermentation was still mild and by morning it had blown the airlock off so I'm not sure how long the airlock was off.

Offline 00ramair

• 1st Kit
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2016, 04:06:47 PM »

Offline VinnyV1981

• Cellarman
    • View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2016, 06:43:58 PM »