Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: 5 gallons vs. 23 liters  (Read 13596 times)

Offline brewmonk

• Assistant Brewer
  • Norcia, Italy
    • Birra Nursia
5 gallons vs. 23 liters
« on: June 30, 2010, 06:26:13 am »
I'm new to the homebrew scene and have just brewed my first batch using a Coopers Irish Stout extract kit.  The OG ended up being about 1040 which I though seemed a bit low (I expected 1050), and was wondering if it had to do with the fact that I made the batch 23 liters (as the instructions indicated) even though I've seen other people use Coopers extracts in recipes and they only made 5 gallon batches in their recipe.  I know the difference is around a gallon, so I would assume that it could make much of a difference in the OG, but would it mess up the recipe?  Since it's my first batch ever, I figured I'd better just stay simple and follow the instructions on the can (which included using 1 kg of white sugar).
Any thoughts?
Br. Francis
Birra Nursia

Offline Hokerer

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Manassas, VA
Re: 5 gallons vs. 23 liters
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2010, 06:39:48 am »
Sounds about right.  Look at it this way - 5 gallons of 1.050 wort has 250 (5 * 50) "gravity points".  That same amount of gravity points in 23 liters (6+ gallons) should get you around 1.041 (250 / 6) gravity.  You're right in the ballpark.

As for the effect, your beer will just be a little lower in alcohol but there's absolutely nothing wrong with that.
Joe

Offline weithman5

• Senior Brewmaster
  • naperville, il
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2010, 09:44:27 am »
exactly as hokerer said. drink up.  other way of looking at it is you diluted by 20 percent (1 of 5 gallons)  so you would expect a 20 percent drop in gravity (10 of 50 points)  again. drink up. RDWHAHB  (AND SINCE THIS IS YOUR FIRST BATCH.  BORROW
Don AHA member

Offline richardt

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2010, 10:19:16 am »