Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Hoppy IPA question  (Read 2168 times)

Offline Markkoks

• 1st Kit
Hoppy IPA question
« on: April 12, 2016, 09:35:35 am »
Hi guys,

I have been trying to brew a fruity and hoppy IPA with moderate bitterness, however my brews end up not as hoppy as I want them to be. I'm not sure how to get them to be hoppy, like for example ballast point sculpin IPA, but it is yet to turn out that way. So I am wondering if you guys could give me some advice regarding my recipe. This is it (please note, I am fairly new to this so if there's some super obvious mistakes, please let me know!):

Type: All Grain
Batch Size: 5.00 gal
Boil Size: 6.33 gal
Boil Time: 60 min
End of Boil Vol: 5.33 gal
Final Bottling Vol: 4.88 gal
Fermentation: Ale, Two Stage
Date: 14 Mar 2016
Brewer:
Asst Brewer:
Equipment: My Equipment
Efficiency: 72.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 73.8 %
Taste Rating: 30.0
Taste Notes:
Ingredients
Amt   Name   Type   #   %/IBU
12 lbs   Pale Malt (2 Row) Bel (3.0 SRM)   Grain   1   95.9 %
8.1 oz   Caramel/Crystal Malt - 20L (20.0 SRM)   Grain   2   4.1 %
1.00 oz   Chinook [12.40 %] - Boil 60.0 min   Hop   3   41.2 IBUs
1.00 oz   Amarillo Gold [8.90 %] - Boil 15.0 min   Hop   4   14.7 IBUs
0.50 oz   Cascade [9.70 %] - Boil 15.0 min   Hop   5   8.0 IBUs
0.50 oz   Cascade [9.70 %] - Boil 5.0 min   Hop   6   3.5 IBUs
1.0 pkg   California Ale (White Labs #WLP001) [35.49 ml]   Yeast   7   -
1.00 oz   Amarillo Gold [8.90 %] - Dry Hop 10.0 Days   Hop   8   0.0 IBUs
1.00 oz   Cascade [9.70 %] - Dry Hop 10.0 Days   Hop   9   0.0 IBUs
Gravity, Alcohol Content and Color

Est Original Gravity: 1.066 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.014 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 6.8 %
Bitterness: 67.3 IBUs
Est Color: 6.7 SRM
Measured Original Gravity: 1.062 SG
Measured Final Gravity: 1.010 SG
Actual Alcohol by Vol: 6.8 %
Calories: 206.7 kcal/12oz

Any advice would be great!

Offline Iliff Ave