Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Fermentation Temp - what is the impact  (Read 1637 times)

Offline desi

• 1st Kit
Fermentation Temp - what is the impact
« on: April 15, 2016, 05:12:10 am »
So, I'm new to brewing and I'm brewing a KBS clone (go big or go home right?) and the recipe calls for a primary fermentation temp of 65 degrees F.  My basement is very consistent.  Consistent at 56 degrees F.

what is the impact on the beer of different fermentation temps?

-desi

Offline Slowbrew

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • The Slowly Losing IT Brewery in Urbandale, IA
Re: Fermentation Temp - what is the impact
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2016, 05:31:14 am »
Your beer ferment at a temp higher than the ambient room temp due to heat produced by the yeast.  I would think you should okay at the temp in your basement.

The major problem I run in to with temp is not being able to get down to the recommended temp.  If the fermentation gets too warm if can produce rather nasty off flavors. 

That being said, you can go too low too and cause the yeast to go dormant or ferment very slowly.  this can give infections the time they need to get a foothold.

Paul
Where the heck are we going?  And what's with this hand basket?

Offline desi

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2016, 05:53:49 am »
that is interesting info.  the fermentation did talk almost 48 hours to begin and has gone very slowly.  My thoughts on that is that for such a large beer, I probably should have pitched two packets of yeast but I only had one.

Offline brewinhard

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2016, 06:18:23 am »