Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: total noob question. how long to keep a bucket?  (Read 3463 times)

Offline beerdoodle

• 1st Kit
total noob question. how long to keep a bucket?
« on: April 27, 2016, 05:41:40 pm »
So, I'm a first time home-brewer. About to brew for the first time here in a couple weeks. Getting stuff ready.

That being said, I bought some of my equipment off of Craigslist. I got a deal. A steal really. Everything I bought seems like it is in awesome condition, with the exception of the primary fermentation 6 gallon bucket.

I recently heard on a podcast, that it's only good to keep a plastic bucket for anywhere from 10 to 20 fermentations, and then it should be replaced. Not like glass carboys where they can be used potentially forever, but replaced after extended use. This was new to me, but it makes sense.

So... about my used craigslist bucket....

It is stained, it does have a smell. Not necessarily a bad smell, but it is not odor free. I was going to use it because when I bought it, I figured it was probably fine. But the more I learn, the more I expect from my equipment.

Is it normal for buckets to get stained, or was this neglect on the previous owner's part? Is it normal for buckets to retain a beer/wort smell? Should I be concerned? Should I think nothing of it? Should I replace it?

Thanks.
Seth

Online pete b

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Barre, Ma
Re: total noob question. how long to keep a bucket?
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2016, 06:41:23 pm »
Fermentation buckets are pretty cheap, so in doubt buy a new one and use the old one for the countless uses that a Brewer can use a bucket for.
If you have a time crunch or otherwise can't get a new one it's probably OK to clean thoroughly and sanitize as long as it's not scratched up. Using anything abrasive on plastic fermenter is a big no no.
Don't let the bastards cheer you up.

trentm