Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Configuring a wedding beer bar  (Read 1209 times)

Offline Whiplash87

• 1st Kit
Configuring a wedding beer bar
« on: April 29, 2016, 12:30:36 pm »
This is my first post and I have no prior knowledge or experience with beer other than of course drinking it. So getting married in october here in California up in the lower sierra, 2300ft elevation. I'm planning on building a wooden framed beer bar that will have three taps and it will eventually be a permanent installation to our house when we can afford one. Will be serving beer from bevmo kegs for convienance. Likely sierra nevada ipa, angry orchard apple cider for the gals and another beer to be determined. I just want to make sure I'm on the right track so far. I have looked at buying kegco's add a tap conversion kit X3, nsf commercial grade double gauge regulator X1, an aluminum 3-way air distributor and a 5 lb aluminum co2 tank from beveragefactorydotcom. planning on having 10ft beer lines and subtracting from there. As far as keeping the kegs cold is a large tub filled with ice sufficient or am I needing to cover and insulate the kegs themselves. Is there anything missing or any preferred vendors or better companies to deal with? thanks in advance, I still have lots of research to do.

Offline kramerog

• Brewmaster General
    • My LinkedIn page
Re: Configuring a wedding beer bar
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2016, 02:23:40 pm »
One of the issues is that the pours will likely be foamy because the beer will warm up in the beer lines if the beer lines are not actively cooled.

Offline blair.streit

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2016, 04:53:02 pm »
One of the issues is that the pours will likely be foamy because the beer will warm up in the beer lines if the beer lines are not actively cooled.
+1. Had lots of issues with this on my first kegerator.