Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Newbie here  (Read 2232 times)

Offline Erik_Mog

• Assistant Brewer
  • Still a NEWB, but learning and getting better.....
Newbie here
« on: May 04, 2016, 10:37:19 am »
Hello everyone.  Newbie brewer here.  I've always been good at drinking beer, and decided it was time to give making it a shot.  I'm already a professional chef, so I guess amateur brewer can go along with that.  For my first batch, I am doing an American IPA.  One of our local breweries, Raleigh Brewing Company, also runs Atlantic Brew Supplies, so I picked up one of their equipment kits, that included a copy of "How to Brew".  The beer I am doing is from one of RBC's recipes...Half Nelson IPA.  It is an extract and specialty grain.  It was,t in a pre-packaged kit form as they will print you the recipe, and then you go and measure, weigh, crush the specialty grains, and whatnot all of your ingredients.

I did the boil, and got it in the fermenter on Monday afternoon.  It showed a few bubbles forming in the airlock after about 5 hours, and has been bubbling steadily since, and has a good kraeusen on top.  I will be leaving it in the primary for at least 2 weeks, and dry hopping with 1 oz of Nelson Sauvin for 3 days before bottling.

For this style, will 2 weeks in the bottle be sufficient for a drinkable beer, or should I wait longer before cracking one open?