Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New Homebrewer looking for the right starter kit  (Read 2451 times)

Offline bschold

• 1st Kit
New Homebrewer looking for the right starter kit
« on: June 25, 2010, 12:53:37 pm »
I am a big fan of microbrews and now would like to create some of my own as a homebrewer.  I am just not sure where to start equipment-wise as there are so many beginner kit choices out there.  Has anyone heard of or used the kits made by the Brooklyn Brew Shop?

Offline brewstev

• Steve Parr
  • 1st Kit
    • HomebrewersAssociation.org
Re: New Homebrewer looking for the right starter kit
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2010, 04:07:43 pm »
I'm still fairly new to homebrewing (5 months and 5 batches) and I was given the Northern Brewer Deluxe Starter Kit because I liked the idea of having 2 carboys in case I wanted to do some stronger beers and it came with starter equipment plus anything I would need to get more advanced. It has worked great for me so far. However, if you are not looking to spend much they have a basic starter kit for about $75. You can also look to see if you have a local homebrew shop that sells equipment and I am sure they would be glad to help you out with getting started.
Assistant Director
American Homebrewers Association

Offline hoptomation

• 1st Kit
  • NW Minnesota
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2010, 04:29:32 pm »
I'd recommend checking over this review as a decent starting point for equipment kits.

http://www.homebrewersassociation.org/forum/index.php?topic=2583.0
Cheers - Luke

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2010, 07:21:46 am »
You can pick up a good starter kit from either your local homebrew shop or an online retail like www.morebeer.com or www.northernbrewer.com.