Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: having hard time deciding if i should upgrade to kegging what do you recommend  (Read 3833 times)

Offline yendor30

• 1st Kit
My real question is for you more experienced brewers do you prefer bottle conditioning or kegging and force carbonating...I have been brewing for several months now my batches all ways taste good but sometimes the carbonation is weird or not enough could be an issue with right amount and type of priming sugar but either way im thinking about making the switch

Offline Slowbrew

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • The Slowly Losing IT Brewery in Urbandale, IA
My experience was that I got tired of bottling.  It was nice to take a 12 pack to a party but you always had to deal with the dregs on the bottom of each bottle.

That's what I say today but the deeper truth is I thought it would be really cool to have beer on tap in the basement all the time.   ;D

On the other side kegging means some relatively expensive equipment for the convenience.  Taking beer to  a party is now hauling a keg and CO2 tank/regulator, ice and an "Ice Cube" cooler with you.  It makes you popular but also can be a pain in the tail.

I don't normally force carb my kegs.  I'm not in a hurry since I usually have more beer on hand than I can consume anyway so I still carb with priming sugar.  If the keg is over carbed, I can de-gas it.  Under carbed and I can let it sit a few days.

I hope this is useful.

Paul
Where the heck are we going?  And what's with this hand basket?

Offline jtoots

• Brewer
I keg, force carb.  Bottling became the achilles heel of my brewing process.  Such a PITA.  Go for it!!!

Offline kramerog

• Brewmaster General
    • My LinkedIn page