Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: HELP with adding Orange zest  (Read 1852 times)

Offline mtnfuzz

• 1st Kit
HELP with adding Orange zest
« on: May 19, 2016, 09:47:41 am »
I'm brewing an Orange Honey Wheat Beer from a recipe I found. After the initial fermentation,  I transfered to secondary fermentation and added 2# Orange Blossom Honey and 4oz Orange Zest (fresh organic oranges, zested and cleaned). It has been 13 days and it's still bubbling. I've never used orange zest before, is this common?

Offline mainebrewer

• Brewmaster
Re: HELP with adding Orange zest
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2016, 09:51:37 am »
I suspect the fermentation you see if from the honey not the orange zest.
"It's not that people are ignorant, it's just that they know so much that just isn't true." Ronald Reagan

Offline brewinhard

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2016, 09:55:56 am »
How often is your airlock bubbling?  How long ago did you add the honey? The zest will not ferment so no worries there. My guess is you are coming to the tail end of fermentation and what you are observing is simply outgassing of CO2 from the fermentation ending. Give it a few more days prior to taking a gravity reading before packaging.

Offline mtnfuzz

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2016, 10:03:15 am »
It has been bubbling 3-4 times per minute consistently for a while now. I added the honey on 5/6, so about 13 days ago.

Offline kramerog

• Brewmaster General
    • My LinkedIn page
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2016, 10:03:33 am »
The beer could be infected by the zest, but the likelihood of this is low.  I've added orange zest to fermentation without any special precautions and without problems before.  I agree with the previous posters that it is most likely fermentation of honey and subsequent offgassing that you are seeing.

Online pete b

• Barre, Ma
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2016, 10:06:44 am »