Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Perlick 630SS faucets on a cooler-based portable cool box?  (Read 2393 times)

Offline Saccharomyces

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Deus ex machina
Believe it or not, I have always used picnic taps on my kegs.  They are easy to clean, and they allow me to make the most of the limited storage space in my brewing refrigerator, which is Sanyo 9.5 cu. ft. non-frost free refrigerator. I purchased the Sanyo new in late nineties to replace an ancient non-frost-free refrigerator that I had been using as a dedicated brewing refrigerator since 1993.  That refrigerator was ridiculously expensive to operate.

With that said, I am in the process of building a portable 2 x 3-gallon keg cool box that intend to bring to HomebrewCon.  I was thinking about purchasing a pair of chrome non-name brand faucets and shanks until I started to hear horror stories about rear-sealing faucets sticking.  The price delta between a pair of rear-sealing chrome non-name brand faucets and shanks and a pair of Perlick 630SS faucets complete with stainless steel nipple shanks was a little over $60.00.  This price delta set off my penny wise, pound-foolish alarm (a.k.a. my buy once, cry once alarm).  Sixty dollars is a drop in the bucket if I have to worry about staying on top of faucets during HomebrewCon.  Does anyone consider Perlick 630SS faucets to be extreme overkill on a cooler-based portable cold box?  The 630SS combo is currently priced so attractively that it does not make sense to go with 630PC faucets and chromed brass shanks.

Offline tommymorris

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Perlick 630SS faucets on a cooler-based portable cool box?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2016, 05:24:42 pm »