Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brewing a big saison recipe, 5 gallons of it, i'd like to experiment with yeast  (Read 1684 times)

Offline Bike&Brew

• 1st Kit
As the title says, I'm brewing a big batch of a standard saison recipe with about 25-30 IBU's. I'd like to split the batch to see the different in flavors/profile caused by the yeast. Any recommendations on a good yeast to experiment with? I was thinking Kolsch, hefe, US-05, etc...the Recipe will be 16#2 row, 4#wheat, 2.5# munich, 2 # oats, cascade and centennial. Thanks!

Offline dls5492

• Brewer
I am no expert. But, in my Saison, I use the White Labs 585 (Belgian Saison Yeast). It's only available From July to August. I also use the WLP644 Sac yeast. BTW, my saison is in the finals of NHC this year. The 585 gives the beer that pepper note and the 644 cuts it a little bit. I hope this helps.
David S.
Cedar Falls, IA
Club: Cedar River Association of Zymurgy Enthusiasts (CRAZE)

And the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. II Cor. 3:17

Offline riceral

• Brewer
I would second WLP585.

I would also recommend Saisonstein Monster. Like this one a lot. Nice spice flavor with some pepper notes.

I have a saison in the fermenter now, using Wallonian Farmhouse from The Yeast Bay. http://www.theyeastbay.com/brewers-yeast-products/wallonian-farmhouse   Looking forward to how this one comes out. I hope I get the funky and tart character the website says. Not too sure if I want any of the mild smokey flavor.

So many good yeast out there that it's fun to try different strains and see which one I like best.
Ralph R.

Offline Bike&Brew

• 1st Kit