Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Keg serving  (Read 1615 times)

Offline BEAGLEBREWINGCO

• 1st Kit
Keg serving
« on: August 03, 2016, 05:25:44 pm »
Hi Everyone

I'm new to kegging so I am enjoying many glasses of delicious foam at the moment - however I think from some of my reading of the articles on AHA that I should solve that pretty soon.

The one question I am not sure of is ...

Once I have force carbonated and my keg is at pressure, is there enough pressure in the keg to then dispense the beer from at a future location. For example, I have seen breweries offering kegs delivered to parties etc where the keg is just tossed into ice and served from, but doesn't this approach require a CO2 tank to providing the dispensing pressure ?

The kegging article on AHA tends to suggest that a CO2 tank is always hooked up for dispensing ?

Would appreciate your knowledge on this.

Offline tommymorris

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Keg serving
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2016, 05:30:55 pm »
Hi Everyone

I'm new to kegging so I am enjoying many glasses of delicious foam at the moment - however I think from some of my reading of the articles on AHA that I should solve that pretty soon.

The one question I am not sure of is ...

Once I have force carbonated and my keg is at pressure, is there enough pressure in the keg to then dispense the beer from at a future location. For example, I have seen breweries offering kegs delivered to parties etc where the keg is just tossed into ice and served from, but doesn't this approach require a CO2 tank to providing the dispensing pressure ?

The kegging article on AHA tends to suggest that a CO2 tank is always hooked up for dispensing ?

Would appreciate your knowledge on this.
You always need to attach a CO2 source to serve beer. You can serve a few glasses without being hooked up to CO2 but after that there won't be enough pressure to push out the beer.