Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Cooling down fermentation  (Read 1781 times)

Offline deadpoetic0077

• Assistant Brewer
  • Noobie
Cooling down fermentation
« on: June 17, 2016, 12:49:32 pm »
Hey all!

Im fairly new to brewing and I have a question about controlling ferm temps. I usually ferment my beers in a glass carboy, but since I live in FL, its hard to keep the beers down to the temps that they need to be. Usually I look for beers that can be in the mid 70's but I have heard of other ways to keep it cool. I don't have a lot of space to get a fridge/ freezer setup and I have heard people say on this forum tha tyou can just sit it in a bath tub with a couple 2 liters of ice, and replace those daily/ every 12 hours or so.

My question is, is this a good way of controlling the temps? Seems like there would be some variation in temp thru the day. Are there other cheap ways to control the ferm temps for a problem like this? Or will I need to keep doing higher temp ferms until I can get a chest freezer to control the temp better?

Thanks for any advice!

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
Re: Cooling down fermentation
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2016, 12:57:01 pm »
Better to go lower and have a few degrees fluctuation than ferment anything in the 70's, in my opinion. Also, you can do the "swamp cooler" thing by putting a t-shirt over the carboy with the bottom submerged in the tub of water. Point a fan at it, and you will have some decent temp control due to evaporation.
Eric B.

Finally got around to starting a homebrewing blog: The Hop Whisperer

Offline deadpoetic0077

• Assistant Brewer
  • Noobie
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2016, 12:58:37 pm »