Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Mega russian imperial stout - some advice needed please  (Read 2795 times)

Offline JFMBearcat

• Cellarman
Mega russian imperial stout - some advice needed please
« on: March 14, 2016, 12:49:45 pm »
Hi all, new member here. I've been brewing for about 5 years and have about 100 or so AG batches under my belt. I haven't brewed a ton of big beers, I usually stay in the 1.050-1.070 range. I'd like to take a stab at a mega RIS for the winter. Wanted to share my recipe/plans and get advice from the more experienced brewers here.

Goal for the beer: Nice big roasty RIS without being syrupy and cloying. Very much against a thin mouthfeel.

First the recipe. Every ingredient I put in a beer I try and have a reason for it:

Est OG: 1.110
EST FG: 1.028
IBU: 75
Color: 56
Est ABV: 11%

5.5 gallon batch, 120 min boil, 10gal pre-boil volume. I have a 15 gal boil kettle.

24 lbs maris otter/pale malt 50/50 blend: 80%
1.5 lbs roasted barley 5.5%
1 lb PALE chocolate malt 3.3% (I hear this is better to mix into a RIS than just chocolate, thoughts?)
1/2 lb chocolate malt 1.7%
12oz Special B 2.5% (I want the raisny/plum flavor that this malt provides)
12oz crystal 80 2.5% (Added to balance the roasted grains)
8oz of both flaked oats and flaked barley to help with a big chewy mouthfeel (Are these necessary?)
DME on hand to adjust OG near the end of the boil

2oz Magnum @ 60
1.25 Willamette @ 30

Approx 450billion cells of Wyeast 1056

Mash @ 151 for 90 minutes, reason I choose this mash temp is to help the yeast attenuate fully and not finish super cloying.

Boil for 2 hours due to needing extra sparge water with such a huge grain bill.

2 min of pure oxygen after transfering to carboy, and another 60 seconds on day 2 of fermentation.

My questions:

1. Is this an appropriate specialty grain bill? Too much or little of anything?