Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Thin, vapid-tasting beer  (Read 1564 times)

Offline qm3k

• Cellarman
Thin, vapid-tasting beer
« on: July 19, 2016, 07:46:45 pm »
Hi all,

I recently brewed an ESB that has had many issues. It has finally settled out into something that's ridiculously light-bodied...has a nice biscuity finish, but no bitterness, and a watery quality to it. I've been drinking it grudgingly, but am ready to dump it.

I brewed the recipe out of Brewing Classic Styles, so I'm assuming that the issue is not with the recipe. I am not a beginner...been brewing for many years. I made an appropriate starter. My OG was right on the button for the recipe. I have toyed around with serving temps and carb levels as well.

I have been messing with mineral additions, but what I used in this beer doesn't seem to line up with what I'm getting. I did find that my thermometer on my mash tun was registering about 6 degrees too low, but that should've had me mashing too high, giving me more body, not less.

Can't figure this out. Any thoughts?

Offline joelv

• Cellarman
Thin, vapid-tasting beer
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2016, 09:04:51 pm »
Maybe Google issues related to flabby beer...?  I had this happen when my ph crawled up on me during the sparge. The beer had a flavor that just disappeared quickly leaving the impression of little flavor. It could be described as watery.

My well water was changing over time and I wasn't measuring ph and didn't know.

Adjusting the ph with acid seems to have resolved it.

Sent from my iPhone using non Tapatalk

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
Re: Thin, vapid-tasting beer
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2016, 12:25:03 am »