Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Kettle sizes for 10 gallon brewing  (Read 6655 times)

Offline beerdoodle

• 1st Kit
Kettle sizes for 10 gallon brewing
« on: July 13, 2016, 06:13:57 pm »
I'm new to brewing, currently doing extracts. Going to switch to all grain next spring. I'm going to be brewing 10 gallon batches, mainly because I'm brewing with my dad and we're splitting everything. For now we're bottling but we are in the process of getting our kegging systems.

Anyway, this question is more for fellow homebrewers that are brewing 10 gallon batches. What size mash tun, lauter tun and boil kettle do I need for brewing 10 gallons? Are 15 gallon kettles big enough, or should I go with 20? I know my dad is interested in brewing some high gravity stuff so we will be brewing some batches with a lot of grains. I have no frame of reference for what's needed. If we were going to stick to 5 gallon batches, I'd probably get 10 gallon kettles. But with 10 gallon batches is a 20 gallon kettle overkill? Should I get a 20 gallon boil kettle and only a 10 gallon mash tun?

Also, which brand of kettles are the easiest to clean?

Thanks in advance,
Seth.

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Kettle sizes for 10 gallon brewing
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2016, 06:32:12 pm »
If your are brewing 10 gallons finished, get a 20 gallon boil kettle. Below is a picture of my 15.7 gallon kettle at the start of boil for a 10 gallon batch (11.5 end of boil with 11 into the fermenters). I brew 5 gallon primarily but 10 gallon often enough to require a larger size.

When it comes to the liquor tank and mash tun, you will need to figure that out. 15 is likely fine for a liquor tank and you can certainly go cheap on that. Mash tun will depend on the grain bill. 10 gallons can hold about 24 lbs of grain with space to stir at 1.2 (thick mash).
« Last Edit: July 13, 2016, 06:37:39 pm by Stevie »

Offline Phil_M