Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First time water adjustment  (Read 2157 times)

Offline txk54

• Cellarman
  • Tim in Cleveland
First time water adjustment
« on: July 06, 2016, 05:50:58 am »
I'll be brewing an APA this weekend and finally feel comfortable enough with the all grain process to add in water adjustment to my brew day. I'd like to make sure I'm on the right track.

Using ez water calculator (it had an open office version) I plugged in my water profile and grain bill:
Na 11
Mg 7
Ca 33
Cl 22
SO4 30
CaCO3 120

13 lbs 2 row
.75 lbs light Munich
.25 crystal 60 L
.25 carapils

To get in the ballpark of some pale ale water profiles I've seen, I'll need to add 6 grams of gypsum to the mash and 4.2 to the kettle. This seems like a lot, but I've never done this before so I really don't know if it's a lot.

I'll also need to add 4ml of lactic acid (88%) to get the ph down to 5.45. Do I add that to the strike water? Is 4ml a lot to add? Do I need to acidify my sparge water? I batch sparge.

Adding the gypsum ups my Ca to 107 and SO4 to 211. Are those numbers reasonable for an APA?

Thanks for any input/advice.

Offline TexasHumuluslupulushead

• Assistant Brewer
  • Austin Zealot
Re: First time water adjustment
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2016, 06:03:07 am »
Ibhave found that ez water always has me add too much. Over time I have dialed my additions in as follows-  keep in mind I use 100% RO water(clean slate):

IPA grain bill and salt additions:

14.25# 2row
C20 10oz
Carapils 10oz

4.8g mash(I only add salts to mash water)

Salt additions:
6g Gypsum
4g Calcium Chloride
3g Epsom
2.1 ml Lactic acid

Target pH 5.3. (Actual on this brew was 5.32)