Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Saison Kit + Homegrown Hops  (Read 2093 times)

Offline CharlesCulp

• 1st Kit
Saison Kit + Homegrown Hops
« on: July 29, 2016, 07:42:15 pm »
I purchased this kit: http://www.northernbrewer.com/dont-be-mean-saison-extract-kit
recipe PDF here: http://www.northernbrewer.com/documentation/beerkits/DontBeMeanToPeople.pdf

I also have Cascade hops growing up the side of my house. Should I use those? How much, and when? Should I omit the final 1.5 oz of Sorachi Ace, and replace it with 10oz of fresh Cascade? Should I instead add the fresh Cascade during secondary fermentation?

Is this a crazy idea to begin with, using Cascade? I understand that it will be a stronger hop taste/aroma, with less of the fruity Sorachi characteristics. It's more of the

In general, I am a beginner. I have been homebrewing for about 10 years, but only made a dozen or so batches. I did try using fresh hops a couple times, and it has always come out way too weak.

Here are some photos of my hop plants, just as reference (two plants). Last time this was about the right amount for a single 5 gallon batch, but I have a bit bigger plants this time.

https://goo.gl/photos/jb6Ygm5JCpB5kMQw5

Thanks for the beginner's help!

Offline brew_in_stl

• 1st Kit
Re: Saison Kit + Homegrown Hops
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2016, 07:55:08 pm »
Fresh hops don't have the same properties as dried. I would recommend, if you REALLY want to use your home grown Cascade hops, add them as a dry hop to part of your batch, so you can see the flavor difference.

Otherwise, I'd take the opportunity to research the difference between fresh and dried hops.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Joshua Eberhardt
Hombrewer since 2006
Member - Saint Louis Brews

Offline Steve Ruch

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2016, 10:00:13 am »
Saison is a fairly wide open category, so use whatever hops you want.