Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brewing Thermometer  (Read 2804 times)

Offline woody45833

• 1st Kit
Brewing Thermometer
« on: August 21, 2016, 08:13:43 pm »
I would like to say hi to all and I'm a newbie only have been brewing for two years, started from Mr.Beer kit to extract then all the equipment to do all grain. I have been successful with most of my beers but lately have ran across a lot of thermometer problems. I have a mega pot and was on 3 different fermenter favorite thermometers one the glass exploded, one the needle fell off the other was just not accurate and would not stay calibrated. I took kettle to shop had thermostat hole welded up and drain valve welded for extension then the valve so O rings would not get hot from eldemetal burner heat shield worked just ok. I have been online so much everyone has been talking about the thermapen and the chef alarm. I'm not worried about the cost as much as me trying to figure out what's best for me. I was thinking thermapen to check water and wart temp in kettle as for a boil doesn't matter can see when it's boiling. The mash tun is my biggest problem I'm trying to figure out. With chef Alarm you won't want to screw lid tight will damage probe cable. So is at is important to measure mash temp constantly or just initially if you have good idea how much temp it will drop in a hour with understanding little different with amount of grains and water. I'm just struggling what is going to be best for me to use for mash water Sparge water and mash tun all in one. I understand by time you buy waterproof probe almost same cost as thermapen. Or maybe I'm going about this wrong open to suggestions and help on picking the right one for me and I do understand there is a lot of info online that is why I think I'm more confused lol Thank You.
Making Memories

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Brewing Thermometer