Author Topic: Efficiency drop after switching from bazooka screen to false bottom  (Read 2535 times)

Offline tmm786

• 1st Kit
    • View Profile
Hey everyone,

Been a member for several years but it's my first time through the forums.  I have a new problem that I am having a hard to figuring out the answer to.

I switched to all grain a couple years ago and started out with a 10 Gal Rubbermaid cooler for a mash tun with a Bazooka screen.  I changed my process slightly as I learned more, but ultimately ended up right around 70% efficiency by mashing in at ~150 degrees F, mashing out at ~168, batch sparging at ~168 and draining to my kettle.  Over time, my bazooka screen started to "break down" and I decided to replace it with a false bottom.

Now, my problem begins -- I am averaging around 60% efficiency since the swap.  I use the same process.  I have used different grain sources and even purchased and have used my own grain bill on the last two batches.  The 2nd most recent batch I ended up with 5 gallons of wort (as planned) and had a gravity of around 1.040 (expected ~1.050).  This weekend I hit my gravity number (1.050) so I was prepared for better results, but ended up short on the wort and still ended with an efficiency of 62%.

I am close to ordering another bazooka screen and seeing if it corrects my results, but with either method I think my efficiency could be better overall.  So, I am wondering if I am missing something fundamental since I would not have expected an efficiency drop with this type of equipment change. 

Any help would be appreciated, and I can provide more details along the way if needed.

Thanks!
Tim

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life.
  • Two Rivers, WI
    • View Profile
    • Manty Malters - Meet the Malters! - Dave Taylor
Re: Efficiency drop after switching from bazooka screen to false bottom
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2016, 02:13:44 AM »