Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Aerating wort  (Read 2811 times)

Offline one_seat

• 1st Kit
Aerating wort
« on: August 18, 2016, 02:55:24 am »
I've been thinking of changing how I aerate my wort. Currently I use a fine mesh strainer at the discharge of my boil kettle to filter and aerate my beer it works pretty well and I get a good foam and good attenuation. I'm thinking maybe I might want to change my technique a little. I'm worried a little about contamination and the foam lowering my head retention. I'm a ships engineer on an oil tanker and we have foam aerators that use the syphon effect to draw in air by water moving fast past holes in the line. What I want to do is drill little holes in a nylon line at an angle that will pull air into the wort. Then take cotton balls that I will boil in water to sanitize and wet as per "how to brew" and a pvc pipe big enough to surround the nylon line and stuff the cotton balls in there to filter the air going into the wort. I can adjust how much air goes into the wort by changing the size of the holes or how many their are. I could use soapy water to dial it in and see if it works in principal. Ideas and/or Anyone try anything like this?

Ps. I have a pump so it's not gravity fed.

Maybe the quick drawing will show it better than I can describe my idea.

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
Re: Aerating wort
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2016, 06:14:56 am »
Neat idea.  In theory it should be possible and effective if you can get the holes of the right size.  However, several concerns/problems:

A) Hoses are plastic and also have pretty thick walls, which might tend to seal up on you.  Wort will tend to soak up into these capillaries, dry up and thus clog them all up.  And along with this...