Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Under pitching and then Re Pitching  (Read 1915 times)

Offline allenjoseph5

• 1st Kit
Under pitching and then Re Pitching
« on: August 25, 2016, 03:15:49 pm »
I planning on brewing a Hefeweizen this weekend. The LHBS only had one packet of the Wyeast 3068 that was a little old. Even with a starter, I will be under pitching.  Which I'm not too upset about, because I'm hoping for a lot of banana esters. I am worried about any other undesirable flavors though.

With the starter, I'll be at about 0.41M cells / mL / °P.  Or about 100 billion short.

I also bought a vial of WLP380. Which is more clove than banana. Again I'm hoping for lots of banana.

So my plan is to under pitch with the wyeast, which should increase the banana esters. And then re pitching with the WLP380 to clean up any unwanted off flavors. Does this sound reasonable?  I'm still pretty new to homebrewing.

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Under pitching and then Re Pitching
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2016, 03:28:28 pm »
You can try a 1 liter shaken not stirred stater pitched full volume at high krausen. One of the main proponents of this method states that initial cell count is way less important with this method. I can attest it works well. I still have trouble with adding the full volume, but the results are good enough to ease that concern.

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
Re: Under pitching and then Re Pitching
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2016, 03:35:44 pm »
You can try a 1 liter shaken not stirred stater pitched full volume at high krausen. One of the main proponents of this method states that initial cell count is way less important with this method. I can attest it works well. I still have trouble with adding the full volume, but the results are good enough to ease that concern.