Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First all-grain, water concern  (Read 2864 times)

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: First all-grain, water concern
« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2016, 09:04:57 am »
I'm no expert but make it easer on yourself and just use spring water.   It's your first AG batch, brew it and have fun

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Again, THIS^^^^^.  Too many advanced brewers tend to forget that it's supposed to be a fun hobby.  Just go get some spring or RO water and enjoy yourself.  There are lots of other things to deal with before you tackle water treatment.  I realize that may be heresy to some people, but I'm into heresy!  ;)  And really, that's how I approached it and it worked great for me.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline Chronospa

• 1st Kit
« Reply #16 on: August 22, 2016, 09:25:34 am »
I agree with this. Leave messing with the water till you have a few batches under your belt.

When I finally got back into brewing after a 12 year break my first 3 extract beers were horrible. I couldn't identify what was wrong so I blamed extracts. So I figured I'd just go to all grain. First 2 batches of that was horrible too. I began to get really disheartened and was questioning whether I wanted to really get back into brewing.

After talking with some local brewers and researching I learned about chloramines and that my local water uses them. They weren't something I ever came across when I was brewing 12 years ago. .