Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Scottish Ale  (Read 7494 times)

Offline bierview

• Assistant Brewer
Scottish Ale
« on: September 07, 2016, 06:56:08 am »
I've been brewing this style for a few years and have never been able to get that creamy silky mouth feel.  I've tried a thin  mash at higher temperatures, adding carapils, flaked oats or barley and still never got to the point where I was satisfied.  Any secrets out there that I am missing?  I should also mention that I bottle and don't keg.

Thanks

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Scottish Ale
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2016, 08:13:45 am »
I've never felt that a scottish ale should be creamy. IMO it should be malty in flavor yet dry, medium body. Maybe try a lower level of carbonation.

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Brain Sparging on Brewing
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2016, 08:35:25 am »
What beers are you trying to emulate?
Heck yeah I blog about homebrewing: Brain Sparging on Brewing

Offline toby

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Galvez, LA
    • Beer Judge Chronicles
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2016, 09:25:10 am »
I've never felt that a scottish ale should be creamy. IMO it should be malty in flavor yet dry, medium body. Maybe try a lower level of carbonation.

This.

Offline dmtaylor

• Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2016, 10:10:36 am »
Style naziism aside, if you want a full creamy body, nothing works better than some rye.  Rye malt or flaked rye at a rate of about 15-20% will help a lot with this.  It might be "cheating" but I'll be damned if it won't fix your issue.
Dave

The world will become a much more pleasant place to live when each and every one of us realizes that we are all idiots.

Offline Stevie

Scottish Ale
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2016, 10:33:05 am »