Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Progression of a homebrewer?  (Read 2004 times)

Offline ridgeline23

• 1st Kit
Progression of a homebrewer?
« on: October 02, 2016, 10:39:03 am »
I've been brewing for 3 years now.  My first 2 batches were extract. I then switched to all grain for better control and because that's what breweries do. I'm on batch 23 now, and learned a few basic things. Early on I've learned do not syphon a lot of hops into keg because it will jam up, yeast starters are totally worth doing, and do not ferment at a higher temp than the yeast pack recommends, just to name a few. 😉 I do basic things like documenting all that I can, watching temps in mash and fermentation closely, and making sure I time things accurately. I don't clone recipes, I just try to combine ingredients that are in my favorite beers (from what they disclose). I almost exclusively brew IPAs and double ipas. I use city water filtered thru a charcoal filter. I put a tsp or 2 of gypsum in IPAs. When mashing, I usually just let wort sit for 80 mins. Efficientcy seems pretty good and I seem to be pretty decent with my system. I'd like to progress into doing ph and water chemistry. I would think water chemistry is difficult because it has to vary by weather and seasons. Are there kits I can buy to personally test my water? Any other things that I can do to improve? I very much appreciate your input. Thank you.

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Progression of a homebrewer?
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2016, 11:05:28 am »
I use RO and Bru'n water. I would recommend starting there or having a ward labs test before investing in water testing equipment.

If I was going to start testing my water, I'd get the Lamotte Brewlab kit. It's a bit expensive, but is good for many uses. I think the recently lowered the price as well. http://www.lamotte.com/en/food-beverage/7188-01.html