Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: WLP540 - Slow attenuation?  (Read 6210 times)

Offline Hand of Dom

• Brewer
WLP540 - Slow attenuation?
« on: October 08, 2016, 03:02:09 pm »
I brewed a Rochefort clone last weekend, came in low on my gravity at 1.068.  Took a gravity sample earlier today, which came in at 1.024.  It's been fermenting for 7 days so far, at 19c/66f.  I've never used this yeast before (use WLP530 on my previous attempt at a Rochefort), so was wondering whether this is normal and I should just leave it going, or should I attempt to rouse it and maybe boost the temperature a little.
Dom

Currently drinking - Amarillo saison
Currently fermenting - Pale ale 1 - 2017

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
Re: WLP540 - Slow attenuation?
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2016, 04:35:26 pm »
I brewed a Rochefort clone last weekend, came in low on my gravity at 1.068.  Took a gravity sample earlier today, which came in at 1.024.  It's been fermenting for 7 days so far, at 19c/66f.  I've never used this yeast before (use WLP530 on my previous attempt at a Rochefort), so was wondering whether this is normal and I should just leave it going, or should I attempt to rouse it and maybe boost the temperature a little.

I'd definitely rouse and warm up to 75-ish, then check gravity in a week.  One thing I've noticed with 1762/540 (Rochefort) - it can underattenuate on the first pitch, but attenuates like crazy on following pitches. In the future, it works great to brew a Patersbier or Belgian pale on the first pitch, then brew a dubbel or quad with the slurry.
Jon H.

Offline Hand of Dom

• Brewer
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2016, 05:22:27 pm »
Cheers, I'll up the temp and give the bucket a gentle swirl in the morning.
Dom

Offline Hand of Dom

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2016, 05:03:06 am »