Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bru'n Water question  (Read 1935 times)

Offline Hand of Dom

• Brewer
Bru'n Water question
« on: November 01, 2016, 04:04:09 am »
I've been using a Bru'n Water for about 9 months, using the water quality figures provided by my local water company.  I've recently bought a salifert alkalinity test kit, and am hoping to use this for the first time on my next brew.  The question I have is for the pH value, should I use the suggested value of 8 (if I don't know the water pH), or should I use the average pH value of 7.7 that I've been using thus far?  I don't have a pH meter to take an actual reading.
Dom

Currently drinking - Amarillo saison
Currently fermenting - Pale ale 1 - 2017

Offline Adamg8504

• 1st Kit
Re: Bru'n Water question
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2016, 04:49:36 am »
If you have been using 7.7 for the last 9 months and don't have any issues then I would just run with that.  The difference between 7.7 and 8 isn't huge and you shouldn't have an issue.

If you are really worried about it, split the difference :)
Fermenting/Aging: IPA, Blonde ale, Spiced Holiday ale, Citra Hefeweizen, Cider, Munich Dunkel, Coffee Oatmeal Stout,

On Tap: Pale ale, RIS, Wee Heavy, Belgian Tripel

Offline kramerog

• Brewmaster General
    • My LinkedIn page
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2016, 08:41:36 am »
I'm not sure that pH even affects the calculation as alkalinity drives the calculations.

Offline Hand of Dom

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2016, 09:57:06 am »
I'm not sure that pH even affects the calculation as alkalinity drives the calculations.

Good point, I'll have a play when I get home.
Dom

Offline Hand of Dom

• Brewer
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2016, 03:16:57 am »